Minor Ports Under The Government Of Karnataka

The Karnataka State has a maritime coastline of155 nautical miles (300 kilometers),studded by twelve minor ports between Karwar in the north and mangalore in the south, flanked by a Uttara Kannada and Dakshina Kannada Districts.The ten minor ports of the site are karwar, Belekeri,Tadri, Pavinakuruva, Honnavar, Manki, Bhatkal, Kundapur, Hangarkatta, Malpe, Padubidri and old Mangalore. Out of these ports, Karwar is the only all weather port  while the other ports are reverine anchorage lightarage ports. 


Ferries and Inland Water Transport 

In Karnataka State, the Inland Water Transport wing has been created under the Department of Ports in the year 1972 on the recommendations of Gokhale Committee and Bhagavathi Committee to look after the administration, maintenance, control and regulation of the Ferries and Waterways by providing modernized Dumb Boats, LCTs. FRP Boats and Mechanized Steel & Wooden Boats.
According to the latest review, the State has got 335 Ferries out of which 16 Ferries are operated by the Department and 32 Ferries operated by public auction under the control and supervision of the department.

Karnataka’s Navigable River System

The state has a well distributed river system as under

East Flowing Rivers: The west Flowing System:
The Krishna System:
Krishna, Tungabadra, Vedavathi, Hagiri, Malaprabha, Ghataprabha, Doni, Bhima
Kalinadi, Hattikeri, Gangavali, Aghanashini, Sharavathi, Bhatkal, Pancha, Gangolli, Sita, Swarna, Varahi, Udhyawar, Gurupur and Netravathi
The Kavery System:
Kaveri, Hemavathi, Harangi, Kapila, Shimsha